Stus Awards presented in Kyiv



On 14 January the Stus Prize was awarded in Kyiv to Yevhen Zakharov, Co-Chair of the Kharkiv Human Rights Group, the poet Iryna Zhylenko and historian Volodymyr Vyatrovych.

The awards were presented by former political prisoner and writer Yevhen Sverstyuk.  The Stus Prize was started in 1989 at the initiative of the Ukrainian Association of Independent Creative Intelligentsia. Previous laureates have included Opanas Zalyvakha, Olha Bohomolets, Ihor Kamenets, Volodymyr Kulchynsky and around 60 Ukrainian artists, scientists, writers and human rights activists.

The award is presented at Christmas since Vasyl Stus was born then in 1938, and the poet Vasyl Symonenko in 1935.

 Share this